How Orlando Pirates coaches perform in their first derby vs Kaizer Chiefs

* All datasets take into account coaches from 2006 to 2020.

Josef Zinnbauer will be hungry to earn back Orlando Pirates’ Soweto bragging rights as he faces Kaizer Chiefs for the first time on Saturday.

After six straight league wins, Pirates suddenly find themselves in with an outside chance in the PSL title race. As the fixture list enters its closing stages, there is no room for error ? especially not in the six-pointer against league leaders Kaizer Chiefs.

Recent history suggests that faring well from the onset in Soweto derbies is a sign that an Orlando Pirates coach is on course for silverware.

Bucs have won seven major trophies since 2003, shared between four different coaches. Of those, three won the Soweto derby on their first attempt after taking charge ? Ruud Krol, J?lio C’sar Leal, and Augusto Palacios.

Vladimir Vermezovi? is the only Orlando Pirates coach during that time to lift silverware, the 2014 Nedbank Cup, after losing his first derby at the helm. He and Rhulani Mokwena are the only two Pirates coaches in the last 14 years to lose their first two competitive Soweto Derbies. Neither lasted long after the second defeat.

First Soweto derby in charge for Orlando Pirates coaches

CoachFirst derby result first spell
Milutin Sredojevic (2006)1-1 Draw
Bibey Mutombo1-1 Draw
Owen da Gama2-2 Draw
Ruud Krol2-0 Win
Julio Leal1-0 Win (AET)
Augusto Palacios3-2 Win
Roger de Sa1-1 Draw
Vladimir Vermezovic1-0 Loss
Eric Tinkler2-0 Loss
Muhsin Ertugral0-0 Draw
Kjell Jonevret1-1 Draw
Milutin Sredojevic (2017)0-0 Draw
Rhulani MokwenaPenalty Shootout Loss after 2-2 Draw

How many days coaches last after their first derby

Orlando Pirates Coaches Vs Kaizer Chiefs Days In Charge

Overall record of Orlando Pirates coaches vs Kaizer Chiefs

Orlando Pirates Coaches Vs Chiefs H2h Goals
Orlando Pirates Coaches Vs Chiefs H2h Results

Fixtures and results

Latest table

All latest EPL Predictions