Rugby score predictions and teams for Saturday 16 July 2022

All to play for as New Zealand host Ireland, Australia clash with England, South Africa play Wales and Argentina face Scotland on Saturday.

A remarkable international rugby window comes to a head on Saturday, with all four of the three-match series going down to the wire in the Southern Hemisphere.

It kicks off with the decider between New Zealand’s under-fire All Blacks against Ireland in Wellington, before Australia and England collide, rather improbably, at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Attention then turns to South Africa’s Mother City of Cape Town, where the Springboks set out to avoid an upset against Wales, before Argentina and Scotland polish off a nail-biting Saturday in Santiago del Estero.

New Zealand vs Ireland

The pressure is piling on New Zealand coach Ian Foster, as his embattled All Blacks attempt to pull the test series from the fire against Ireland at the Sky Stadium.

A famous 23-12 victory last weekend was just the tonic for the visitors after their opening test battering at Eden Park.

Andy Farrell’s men now have at least a puncher’s chance at claiming a sensational success, as the 2023 World Cup begins to creep over the horizon.

New Zealand Starting XV: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Sevu Reece, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Scott Barrett, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 George Bower.

Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Aidan Ross, 18 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 19 Akira Ioane, 20 Dalton Papalii, 21 Folau Fakatava, 22 Richie Mo’unga, 23 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Ireland Starting XV: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Mack Hansen, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe, 10 Johnny Sexton (captain), 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 James Ryan, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter.

Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Keith Earls.

Australia vs England

Old enemies Australia and England have provided all the drama you would expect, as they go into their final test of the international rugby window dead level ahead of their final clash.

The Sydney Cricket Ground steps in to host the fixture as the usual stadium is redeveloped, but don’t expect a collapse from wither nation after the Red Rose struck back a week ago following the Wallabies’ imposing start to the series in Perth.

And it’s an opportunity for visiting coach Eddie Jones to restore faith in his charges, at the expense of his countrymen Down Under.

Australia Starting XV: 15 Reece Hodge, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Nic White, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Harry Wilson, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Nick Frost, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 David Porecki, 1 James Slipper.

Replacements: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rob Leota, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Len Ikitau, 23 Suliasi Vunivalu.

England Starting XV: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Guy Porter, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Tommy Freeman, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Lewis Ludlam, 6 Courtney Lawes (captain), 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Ollie Chessum, 3 Will Stuart, 2 Jamie George, 1 Ellis Genge.

Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Joe Heyes, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Jack Willis, 21 Jack van Poortvliet, 22 Will Joseph, 23 Henry Arundell.

South Africa vs Wales

The international rugby drama continues on Saturday afternoon with another series on the line in Cape Town, as South Africa and Wales go head-to-head for the final time.

Late drama settled both of the first two test matches, with the Welsh striking back to nab the win in Bloemfontein a week ago to exact revenge for the Springboks’ opening success at Loftus Versfeld.

A bundle of fresh faces are restored to the Bok line up following last weekend’s experimental side, as the injury-hit tourists attempt to pull off an unthinkable series victory over the reigning World Cup champions in their own back yard.

South Africa Starting XV: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi (captain), 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Albertus Smith, 21 Elrigh Louw, 22 Francois de Klerk, 23 Willie le Roux.

Wales Starting XV: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar (captain), 9 Kieran Hardy, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Tommy Reffell, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Adam Beard, 4 Will Rowlands, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Gareth Thomas.

Replacements: 16 Dewi Lake, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Sam Wainwright, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Owen Watkin.

Argentina vs Scotland

Argentina and Scotland contest the fourth and final series decider of an absorbing international break when they clash in Santiago del Estero on Saturday.

Los Pumas gained the upper hand with an eight-point win in the opener a fortnight ago, before the Scots roared back into the three-match contest with a 29-6 victory last weekend.

Now the pair meet for the final time, as well as for the honours, at the Estadio Unico Madre de Ciudades.

Argentina Starting XV: 15 Juan Cruz Mallía, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Matías Moroni, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Lautaro Bazán Vélez, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Santiago Grondona, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Joel Sclavi, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Thomas Gallo.

Replacements: 16 Ignacio Ruiz, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Francisco Gómez Kodela, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Juan Martín González Samso, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Tomás Albornoz, 23 Lucio Cinti.

Scotland Starting XV: 15 Ollie Smith, 14 Rufus McLean, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Sione Tuipulotu, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Blair Kinghorn, 9 Ali Price, 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Hamish Watson (captain), 6 Rory Darge, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Ewan Ashman, 1 Rory Sutherland.

Replacements: 16 Dave Cherry, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18 Javan Sebastian, 19 Glen Young, 20 Andy Christie, 21 George Horne, 22 Ross Thompson, 23 Sam Johnson.


Chance of winning (%)Points margin
New Zealand78,713
Chance of winning (%)Points margin
Chance of winning (%)Points margin
Chance of winning (%)Points margin