Extra Time Media

Soweto derby top scorers: 2010s and all-time

extra time stories

Despite only joining Kaizer Chiefs in 2018, Leonardo Castro was the joint-top scorer in Soweto derbies throughout the 2010s along with Siphiwe Tshabalala.

Castro has scored four goals in six appearances for Kaizer Chiefs against Orlando Pirates. He had already begun to master the art of haunting the Ghost while at Mamelodi Sundowns, netting twice in three appearances against the Buccaneers there.

The Colombian aside, only Siphiwe Tshabalala managed four Soweto derby goals during the previous decade. The former Bafana star regularly lit up the fixture wearing the colours of Amakhosi up until his 2018 transfer to Erzurumspor.

Winger Knowledge Musona and penalty-taking centre-back Daniel Cardoso each managed three Soweto derby goals for Kaizer Chiefs in the 2010s. Thembinkosi Lorch was the only player to score three times for the team in black and white.

No modern Chiefs or Pirates player is likely to come anywhere near the record set by Pule ?Ace? Ntsoelengoe, who according to TimesLIVE scored 19 Soweto derby goals for Kaizer Chiefs.

Teenage Dladla? Shaka Ngcobo and Marks Maponyane were next with 11 derby goals. Jomo Sono was the most prolific Pirates player with nine, although one of Maponyane’s derby goals was for the Buccaneers.

Kaizer Motaung snr was a revered Orlando Pirates player prior to forming Kaizer Chiefs, but as far as this fixture went, he let his football do the talking regarding where his allegiances lay. Motaung netted eight derby goals for Amakhosi.

His son, Kaizer Motaung jnr, was one of 38 players to score in the Soweto derby during the past decade excluding own goals.

The Carling Black Label Cup has not been included in these tallies.

Soweto Derby top scorers in 2010s

PlayerDerby goals for Kaizer ChiefsDerby goals for Orlando PiratesTotal derby goals
Isaac Chansa11
Knowledge Musona33
Katlego Mashego11
Ezenwa Otorogu11
Sthembiso Ngcobo22
Siphiwe Tshabalala44
Kaizer Motaung Jr11
Thulasizwe Mbuyane11
Oupa Manyisa11
Bernard Parker22
Happy Jele11
Benni McCarthy22
Andile Jali11
Lehlohonolo Majoro22
Collins Mbesuma11
Daine Klate11
Lennox Bacela11
Kermit Erasmus11
Kingston Nkhatha11
Willard Katsande22
Tefu Mashamaite11
Siphelele Mthembu11
Issa Sarr11
Thamsanqa Gabuza22
Erick Mathoho11
Ayanda Gcaba11
Tendai Ndoro22
Joseph Malongoane11
Thembinkosi Lorch33
Leonardo Castro44
Luvuyo Memela22
Khama Billiat11
Innocent Maela11
Vincent Pule22
Justin Shonga11
Daniel Cardoso33
Fortune Makaringe11
Gabadinho Mhango22